e-mods.net

Nod Engine SDK => Mapping in Embrace => Topic started by: Mort on 2006-07-02, 01:52:44

Title: Embrace map question
Post by: Mort on 2006-07-02, 01:52:44
hey, im making a clubish type map, and currently im working on a dance floor.  If anyone has seen "The Red Spike" club in BT Dallas map or somewhere, there is a dancefloor that is reflectable, but you can also see a faded marble texture.  I was wondering if anyone can help me make this effect.  ive tried adding the marble texture than adding reflect and no draw to it, but its a pure mirror image. any help is appreciated.

(http://i15.photobucket.com/albums/a365/mgust35/SHOT0006.jpg)
Title: Re: Embrace map question
Post by: nomen illi mors on 2006-07-02, 06:04:52
Did you also try the texture they used in the cathedral in prague; St Thomas?
Looks like the same effect to me...
Title: Re: Embrace map question
Post by: Javokis on 2006-07-02, 09:25:55
The Red Spike club?

That's Takaina club. I made that and I know exactly how I created that floor.

In embrace you can make almost any texture reflective using surface inspector. Here's how I did that:

-Select a brush you want to have the reflective effect on in cam view then right click on it.
-Press s for the surface inspector
-There's only three options needed for that effect and at least two of them need to be combined - that is trans 33, trans 66, and reflect.
-Choose from one or both of the trans 33 or trans 66 then choose reflect.
-apply the settings to the bush.

That should do it.
Title: Re: Embrace map question
Post by: Mort on 2006-07-02, 13:33:34
hmmm. on the btdallas map made by the black triad rping guilde named it "the red spike"

anyway, thanks for your help rainmoon.  much appreciated bro.
Title: Re: Embrace map question
Post by: Javokis on 2006-07-02, 14:02:14
NP.

Also make sure your map has sectors or the reflective surface might not look right.
Title: Re: Embrace map question
Post by: Mort on 2006-07-02, 14:07:13
got it. thanks. also can you tell me how you get music in a certain area only in a map.  I try to but it says i can only register wav files or something, but all the songs in the music folder are mp3s.

also i need some help on how to add different colored lights and how to make cool lazer effects for the club.
Title: Re: Embrace map question
Post by: Javokis on 2006-07-02, 14:31:47
You don't have to settle for what's on the sound list. You can simply input the name of mp3/wav file in the text input and it should run it as long as you setup volume and stuff on it.

How to create a laser

-Press n for the template list
-Create a laser template (choose from the Global.not/particle/beams list) by double clicking or do right-click in buildwindow then choose template.
-While the laser template is selected, press shift+k
-A path_corner will be created
-Move the path_corner around and notice that a string now connects between the path_corner and the particle template?
-Where you move the path_corner is where your beam is going to go.

That's pretty much it to making lasers.

Creating a coloured light

-Right click in the buildwindow and choose light from the list.
-Press n for the Things & Templates window while you are selected the Light
-Click on the Light tab
-Click the 'Pick Color...' button and choose your color.
-You can also adjust a Light's intensity, Style (Flame flickers, Probe Lights, ect), and change it's Falloff from this window.

Enjoy!  ;)


Title: Re: Embrace map question
Post by: Mort on 2006-07-02, 18:55:12
I know how to add music to the map using soundbox, etc. the only problem I get is when trying to use an mp3. I keep getting the same error no matter what mp3 file. I can’t even change the volume while I have a music file selected. This is the error I get…

(title of error) Embracethings

[Cannot Determine the device type from the given filename extension]

I even tried using a default music file from vamp itself and I still get it… I use the things and template editor, selecting sound and then “pick sound” after I have selected an mp3 this is when I get the error.
Title: Re: Embrace map question
Post by: Javokis on 2006-07-02, 20:46:11
Hmm...

All I do is go into the Sounds folder and copy the name of the file then use ctrl+v to paste the name into the input box, click apply sound, and then set and apply volume.

I also make sure that the filename extension says .mp3.

Usually works just fine for me. On the other hand this could be your sound card being fussy. Be sure to have the latest drivers for your sound card.

Title: Re: Embrace map question
Post by: Mort on 2006-07-07, 03:47:28
ok i got it working now, and this is what im doing.

right click on grid and select sound box.

strech the box through the area where i want the music to play

pasting in the name of the song with the .mp3 following it and i apply it.

Now the thing that is going on is that it is playing on the entire map and not just in the sound box.  any idea the cause of this?
Title: Re: Embrace map question
Post by: Javokis on 2006-07-07, 08:23:30
Did you add sectors to your map? Sectors are always needed.
Did you add music in the scene editor? If so, remove it.

That's all I can think of for what could be an issue.
Title: Re: Embrace map question
Post by: Mort on 2006-07-08, 19:31:49
im finishing up right now and i need to know one last thing.  how do you get the vtmr theme to stop playing when you come into my game.  when i ran it in multiplayer, the vamp theme kept playing over the top of my soundbox song.  how do you turn off the vamp theme?
Title: Re: Embrace map question
Post by: Javokis on 2006-07-08, 20:41:51
You can use the ST panel to respawn yourself at the location.

Or you could try adding sound/music to your map. Usually I just pick an ambient room sound and set volume to low and that makes everything quiet when the map loads.
Title: Re: Embrace map question
Post by: Mort on 2006-07-08, 20:57:40
thank you.

anyway to identify items in embrace or must it be done in game w/ spirits touch?
Title: Re: Embrace map question
Post by: Javokis on 2006-07-23, 19:41:50
Currently there is no auto-identify feature for embrace nor a script available to do that. Unfortunately, Spirit's Touch is currently your only option.
Title: Re: Embrace map question
Post by: Mort on 2006-07-26, 23:56:33
Hey, got another question for ya.

How do you change the sound of the door opening and closing?  Instead of the normal door sound when you open it, im wanting the crypt door sound.  For example, the sound im wanting is for the door in the monestary entrance when you first enter it.

how do you change the sound to it?
Title: Re: Embrace map question
Post by: Javokis on 2006-07-27, 00:06:48


-First select your door brush then press n
-Scroll up a little ways from the tracker_thing object till you find a DOORS template parent
-Open it up and rummage through it.
-Select the one you want and press apply template.

This should change your door sounds to various door type templates.

TIP: If all you're doing is basic template editing, use the quick object export feature next time you export your map. The quick object export feature only works after your map has been given a full export at least once. To use Quick Object export just choose the 'Objects Only' button from the export window before clicking 'Export'.
Title: Re: Embrace map question
Post by: Mort on 2006-07-30, 03:54:52
thanks for all the great help and tips. :)

is there anywhere i can get the .map files for vienna, prague, newyork, and london?
Title: Re: Embrace map question
Post by: Javokis on 2006-07-30, 10:34:04
Yes.

http://www.planetvampire.com/downloads/official/
Title: Re: Embrace map question
Post by: Barnabas on 2010-03-27, 10:14:45
I have a problem with floors, that tasks me for months now. In some of my maps parts of a floorbrush is not walkable ingame. It´s flagged as walkable in Embrace, but ingame the Player can´t walk on parts of the brush - the rest of the brush is walkable. There are no sectorborders, no other brushes, no details, no probs on the brush. Does anyone know that problem? Btw - I tried to make new floorbrushs, but again the same parts are not walkable.....
Title: Re: Embrace map question
Post by: Javokis on 2010-03-27, 11:40:00
Check your walls and surrounding architecture. Other brushes that connect to the floor maybe affecting it. Usually you can spot a brush that is causing issues by seeing seams in the shadows.
Title: Re: Embrace map question
Post by: Kaelidian on 2010-03-27, 18:47:21
theres also a console command to disable the need for item identification too itemstatcheck false or something like that right?
Title: Re: Embrace map question
Post by: Javokis on 2010-03-28, 10:38:16
No. The noitemstatcheck is used only to allow anyone to equip an item without meeting its requirements.
Title: Re: Embrace map question
Post by: Barnabas on 2010-03-28, 12:43:50
Ok, I solved the problem with the floor. There were a few pillows, that seemed to cause the problem. Now I have another problem. I made a chronicle for the first maps and made a testrun. A few minutes, everthing seemed to be ok, but then parts of the Interface disappeared. Looked like that:

(http://www.barnabas.narvid.de/Pics/Interface01.jpg)

Does anyone know this problem?
Title: Re: Embrace map question
Post by: Javokis on 2010-03-28, 13:12:54
Hmm... video card fowl up? If your texture memory is limited, you might want to consider using smaller texture sizes. On the other hand, there could be several factors at work. I can't say much with certainty unless I can test the map on my end.
Title: Re: Embrace map question
Post by: gschenker on 2010-04-17, 09:12:40
I got a problem with the Embrace. Although I put a prop item with a double-click - a Red Ferrari car from the gigapack.NOT - into my edited map, the Ferrari is still "invisible" or it does not exists on the map in runtime . I can see the placed car in my map with Embrace, and I can take it with SHIFT+left-click and I can move it anywhere where I want, but after exporting my map, on the running chronicle the car doesn't seems. It's simply disappears from the edited map.

What should be the cause of my problem? Can you help me, guys?  ??? ::)
Title: Re: Embrace map question
Post by: Javokis on 2010-04-17, 12:03:38
Check to make sure you don't have layers active.